IEEE UP Section – IEEE UP Section

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Incorporated (IEEE) is a non-profit corporation, incorporated in the state of New York on 16 March 1896.
The purpose of the IEEE is to engage exclusively in scientific and educational activities within the meaning of Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, directed toward the advancement of the theory and practice of electrical, electronics, communications and computer engineering, as well as computer science, the allied branches of engineering and the related arts and sciences, which benefit the engineering profession and the public.
As authorized by the IEEE Board of Directors, the IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Board (known as IEEE Regional Activities Board prior to 1 January 2008) approved the establishment and boundaries of the IEEE Uttar Pradesh Section on 11 May 1992. The Uttar Pradesh Section conducts activities which assist the local IEEE members to enhance their professional careers and their communities.


The Uttar Pradesh Section is located in Region 10, and is represented at the India Council. The Section was formed on 11 May 1992.
Prior to that, Uttar Pradesh had been a sub-section under the Delhi Section since 28 December 1970, and those section officers listed prior to 1992 were for the sub-section.

About Uttar Pradesh

Often described as the heartland of India, Uttar Pradesh is the country’s most populous state. With nearly one-sixth of the population, or 200 million people, as per the 2011 Census, the state has a population comparable to Brazil. Only four countries namely China, USA, Indonesia and Brazil have a population higher than that of Uttar Pradesh. With a population density of 828 people per square kilometre, UP is also one of the densest states in the country. Over the last decade, the population of the state has increased by over 25.8 percent. Out of the 200 million population of the state, nearly 78 percent lives in rural areas across nearly 100,000 villages. According to the 2011 Census, UP also has the largest rural population in India.

The state was created on 1 April 1937 as the United Provinces with the passing of the States Reorganization Act and was renamed Uttar Pradesh in 1950. Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh and Kanpur is the economic and industrial capital of Uttar Pradesh. On 9 November 2000, a new state, Uttarakhand, was carved from the mountainous Himalayan region of Uttar Pradesh. The state is now organized into 75 districts, 311 tehsils and 820 development blocks. The state has several historical, natural, and religious tourist destinations, such as the Taj Mahal, Varanasi, Piprahwa, Kaushambi, Ballia, Shravasti, Kushinagar, Lucknow, Chitrakoot, Jhansi, Allahabad, Meerut and Mathura.

Chairs of IEEE UP Section

Sanyam V Juneja 1976-79
Gopal K Dubey 1992
Suresh C Srivastava 1994
Shyama P Das 2006-07
Yatindra Nath Singh 2009-10
Yatindra Nath Singh 2010-11
Ajai Jain 2011-12
Ajai Jain 2012-13
S. N. Singh 2013-14
S. N. Singh 2014-15
A. Biswas 2015-16
J. Ramkumar 2016-17
J. Ramkumar 2017-18
Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava 2018-19
Asheesh Kumar 2019-20

2019 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment Performance.

Mission Statement

In order to fulfill IEEE’s mission of advancing the theory and practice of electrical, electronics, communications and computer engineering, as well as computer science and related areas, Region 10 activities are directed to developing and maintaining regional entities for the best interests and benefits of the IEEE members in the region.

Useful Download Links